Tags

, , ,

 

healthy vegan books and cookbooks

I’ve been going through a lot of life changes, some of them great, some of them not-so-great. But no matter what 2015 threw at me, or what’s in store for 2016, one thing I know for sure: if you don’t have your health you have nothing.

I decided to go vegan in the first place for health reasons. Eventually my heart expanded to recognize the sentience and beauty of all living things and now I consider myself an ethical vegan, but good health is still very important to me. Does that mean I’m perfect? No. I’ll admit on an emotionally tumultuous weekend I’ve polished off a whole bottle of wine to myself (ha ha!), but that’s a rare occurrence. Overall, I endeavor to be a strong example of vegan health not just for my own sake, but also to show that yes, you can be healthy on a vegan diet.

There are a lot of amazing books out there on healthy vegan diets, usually with a focus on eating whole foods. If being a healthier vegan in 2016 is on your list of to-do’s, here are just a few titles I have on my own bookshelf (as seen in the photo above) and would recommend to you:

  • The China Study by T. Colin Campbell, MD, Thomas Campbell, MD
  • The China Study Cookbook, Leanne Campbell, PhD
  • Vegan for Her by Virgina Messina, JL Fields
  • The Good Karma Diet by Victoria Moran
  • The Plant-based Journey by Lani Muelrath
  • The Vegiterranean Diet by Julieanna Hever M.S., R.D., C.P.T.
  • The Abundance Diet by Somer McCowan
  • Forks Over Knives The Cookbook by Del Sroufe

Beyond what I have on my own bookshelf, you can find loads more titles around the internet, in bookstores, and in libraries. For more information on a healthy vegan diet, check out these titles:

  • Vegan for Life: Everything You Need to Know to Be Healthy and Fit on a Plant-Based Diet by Jack Norris and Virginia Messina
  • Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting a Healthy Plant-Based Diet by Brenda Davis
  • Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition by T. Colin Campbell, PhD
  • Unprocessed by Chef AJ
  • The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Plant-Based Nutrition by Julieanna Hever M.S., R.D., C.P.T.
  • The China Study All-Star Collection: Whole Food Plant-Based Recipes from Your Favorite Vegan Chefs by Leanne Campbell, PhD
  • The Campbell Plan by Thomas Campbell, MD
  • Food for Life: How the New Four Food Groups Can Save Your Life by Neal Barnard, MD
  • Rethink Food: 100+ Doctors Can’t Be Wrong by Shushana Castle, Amy-Lee Goodman
  • The Engine 2 Diet by Rip Esselstyn
  • How Not to Die by Michael Greger, MD
  • Eat to Live by Joel Fuhrman, M.D.
  • Eat to Live Cookbook by Joel Fuhrman, M.D.

Do you have a favorite book or cookbook you would recommend to anyone who wants to adopt a healthy vegan diet? Please share in the comments; I’d love to keep a list of recommendations from you 🙂

