Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

new vegan cookbooks spring 2015

As I write this post, it’s a very cool Spring Saturday. The sun is shining, but the wind is blowing and I don’t think the temperature will get above 55 today. Nonetheless, I can feel that things are coming to life, colors are getting a bit brighter outside, and I’m feeling more energized now that the sun is staying out longer every day. Yup, there’s an excitement in the air for sure.

With this new season comes for exciting things: new cookbooks! See, I have a bit of an obsession with cookbooks. Right now, I have a fabulous collection of cookbooks that even if I cooked every single recipe from each book for every day for the remainder of my life, I probably wouldn’t be able to get through all of my cookbooks, ha ha. Still, I love having them! I love seeing the creativity of the cooks, reading their stories, supporting the vegan community, and of course, eating!  So…occasionally I check out what’s new and upcoming on the vegan cookbook scene.

There are plenty of new titles coming up — some coming this month, in fact! Here are a few that are most enticing to me and caught my eye (in no particular order — they all sound amazing!):

1. Street Vegan: Recipes and Dispatches from The Cinnamon Snail 
(May 5, 2015)

Street Vegan recipes from The Cinnamon Snail

image: Amazon

The vegan world was saddened recently to learn that the beloved and award-winning New Jersey and New York City-based food truck, The Cinnamon Snail, was closing. I had the pleasure of eating their food on at least 3 occasions and it was AWESOME. While the truck may be off the roads, you can bring their truly delicious food right to your own kitchen 😉

2. Vegan with a Vengeance, 10th Anniversary Edition: Over 150 Delicious, Cheap, Animal-Free Recipes that Rock (May 26, 2015)

Vegan with a Vengeance 10th Anniversary Edition

image: Amazon

Isa Chandra Moskowitz, queen of vegan cooking, PPK founder, and chef and owner of Modern Love in Omaha, has updated her successful Vegan with a Vengeance cookbook with even more recipes — something which we vegan foodie fans never grow tired of, right?

3. Tres Green, Tres Clean, Tres Chic: Eat (and Live!) the New French Way with Plant-based, Gluten-Free Recipes for Every Season (April 21, 2015)

Tres Green Tres Clean Tres Chic

image: Amazon

The title by Rebecca Leffler was of particular interest to me for a couple of reasons. I studied French for many years so the title alone caught my eye, but also, this is more than a cookbook. The recipes are vegan and are devoid of gluten, soy, and refined sugar, but this book also covers eating seasonally, natural beauty remedies, and illustrated yoga poses with playlists. It sounds like all-around wellness to me!

4. Healthy Happy Vegan Kitchen (April 28, 2015)

Healthy Happy Vegan Kitchen cookbook

image: Amazon

I’ve enjoyed reading Kathy Patalsky’s Healthy Happy Life vegan food blog for quite some time now, so of course her cookbook caught my eye. Plus, she seems to have such a positive, kind spirit; how could I not give her a shout-out on this list?

5. Lookbook Cookbook: Simple, Delicious, Gluten-free & Vegan Dishes for Fashion Loving Foodies (May 12, 2015)

Lookbook Cookbook

image: Amazon

I first came across Lookbook Cookbook recipes from my Girlie Girl Army newsletters. While I’m a simple tshirt-hoodie-jeans-sneakers kind of girl, I have always loved fashion from a distance. I say from a distance because I’m just too low-maintenance to shop for “outfits” and accessorize. Still, I love looking at fashion magazines and getting my Project Runaway fix. At any rate, the recipes have always looked tantalizing so I’m sure the full-on collection of recipes (which are vegan, gluten-free, and soy-free) won’t disappoint. P.S. You can “peek inside” the cookbook on Amazon!

6. The Abundance Diet: 28-day Plan to Reinvent Your Health, Lose Weight, and Discover the Power of Plant-Based Foods (June 9, 2015)

The Abundance Diet vegan cookbook

image: Amazon

Last, but certainly not least, I’ve got to say I am super duper excited about Somer McCowan’s cookbook. Both my husband and I have been following her food blog, Vedged Out, whose recipes have been featured in numerous print and digital publications, for a while. I’ve never met Somer, but we’ve spoken via social media several times and I can tell you she is passionate about food and health. Her story — how she reversed chronic illness with a plant-based diet — is quite extraordinary and inspiring. Definitely check out her recipes, her story, and pre-order her debut cookbook!

If you missed my previous must-have vegan cookbook titles post, be sure to check that out. Some of the cookbooks featured in that post are already in bookstores and available online. 😉

Finally, I’ve reviewed a few cookbooks I have on my own shelf that you’ll find add-worthy to your own collection if you, like me, are a little addicted to cookbooks.

Thanks for stopping by the blog today and giving it a read. Until next time, I hope your days are warmer, sunnier, happy, and healthy.

