Tags

, , ,

vegan month of food 2014 tofu teriyaki

Happy Fall Equinox! Autumn is officially here. I hope you checked out yesterday’s pumpkin waffle recipe to mark the occasion 😉 And, of course, we’re still celebrating Vegan Month of Food 2014.

With the cool temperatures rolling in, today’s stir fry recipe is sure to keep you warm and satisfied. To vegan-ize the original recipe, I simply swapped out the chicken for (well-pressed) tofu and chicken broth for a vegetarian chicken broth. (Or, as I’ve sometimes seen it advertised, a no-chicken broth.) This is the kind I found at my local health food store, although there are other vegetarian broth products out there.

All my ingredients, including the teriyaki sauce, did not contain gluten so this is also a gluten free vegan recipe. With my swaps, I still managed to keep the Points Plus values and number of servings the same.

I have to thank my hubby for standing by and taking some of the photos. He’s been instrumental in helping me in the kitchen. He’s usually the cook of the household, but I don’t think he’s minded taking a back seat to the cooking and just sitting pretty until it’s chow time 😉

Speaking of chow time, let’s get to it, shall we?

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 pound of extra-firm tofu (or firm tofu very well-pressed), cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 4 medium uncooked scallion(s), chopped (green and white parts)
  • 1/2 cup vegetarian chicken broth
  • 2 TB teriyaki sauce
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice (keep hot until ready to serve)
  • 4 cups broccoli, fresh or frozen, steamed

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and set pan over medium-high heat. When hot, add garlic; cook, stirring, about 1 minute.
  2. Add tofu; cook until golden brown on all sides, stirring often, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add scallions; cook until soft, stirring, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add broth and teriyaki sauce; simmer until sauce reduces slightly, about 5 minutes.
  5. Spoon 1/2 cup of cooked rice into each of 4 shallow bowls; spoon about 1 cup of tofu mixture and 1/2 cup of broccoli over each serving.

Yields 4 servings

tofu-teriyaki tofu-teriyaki-1 tofu-teriyaki-2 tofu-teriyaki-3 tofu-teriyaki-4 tofu-teriyaki-5 tofu-teriyaki-6 tofu-teriyaki-7 tofu-teriyaki-8 tofu-teriyaki-9

