Tags

, , , ,

vegan month of food 2014 vegan pumpkin waffles

Tomorrow is the first day of Fall (my favorite season!). If you’re looking for a way to welcome the Autumn season, today’s pumpkin waffles will be just the thing! I don’t go ga-ga for pumpkin the way some people do, but the pumpkin flavor in these waffles isn’t so in-your-face, so I really enjoyed these waffles and would eat them again in a heartbeat. And P.S., if you don’t have a waffle iron, you can absolutely use this batter to make pancakes instead.

The original recipe calls for an egg, which I totally omitted. Oftentimes in vegan baking, pumpkin or applesauce or other pureed fruits/veggies work as a natural binder. Plus…this recipe has a tablespoon of oil. Between the pumpkin and the oil, I felt the waffles would have both moisture and binding power, so why even include that darn egg? Also, instead of buttermilk, I made my own buttermilk by using West Soy unsweetened soy milk mixed with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. Simply measure out your soymilk, add your vinegar, give it a good whisk, and let it sit for 10 minutes. Voila! Vegan buttermilk.

I also swapped out the all-purpose flour for gluten-free flour. When I poured my batter for the first waffle, I noticed the batter was really thin. I know gluten-free flours don’t necessarily absorb liquids as well as gluten-full flours (or so I had read somewhere), so be prepared for that. Also, 1/4 cup of batter is supposed to be used per waffle. But I think 1/3 cup is better. After my substitutions, and using 1/3 cup per waffle and making 4 servings instead of 5, the Points Plus value actually stayed the same.

I topped my waffles with a little bit of maple syrup, and sometimes I love to top my waffles with almond butter and syrup. I wish I would have done that! No matter, I still enjoyed these waffles and so did the hubby 😉

Let me know what you think if you make them! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray for waffle iron
  • 1 cup(s) all-purpose flour (or gluten-free all-purpose flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp table salt
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon (if you love cinnamon and nutmeg flavors, you can kick these measurements up a bit!)
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup(s) dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup(s) canned pumpkin
  • 1 1/4 cup(s) vegan buttermilk

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a large bowl; stir well with a whisk.
  2. Combine brown sugar, oil, pumpkin and vegan buttermilk in a bowl; stir with a whisk until blended. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture and stir until well combined.
  3. Coat a waffle iron with cooking spray; preheat. Spoon about 1⁄3 cup of batter per waffle onto hot waffle iron, spreading batter to edges. Cook 5 to 7 minutes or until steaming stops; repeat with remaining batter.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 waffles).

vegan-pumpkin-waffles-1 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-2 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-3 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-4 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-5 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-6 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-7 vegan-pumpkin-waffles-8

Who’s ready to eat some vegan and gluten free pumpkin waffles? (Tweet this!)

