Tags

, , , ,

vegan month of food 2014 mixed berry crumble

Now that I’m home and finished with traveling for a few days, I’ve got a 4-ingredient vegan dessert for you that is perfect for this cool Fall weather (even though it’s not technically Fall, yet). It’s a mixed berry crumble and it’s divine.

I didn’t have to change the ingredients very much from the original recipe. I simply swapped out the animal-based butter for Earth Balance butter. Also, instead of using all-purpose flour, I used a gluten-free all-purpose flour.

The recipe calls for blueberries and raspberries, but really, you can use any combination of berries that works for you. I happen to love blueberries and cherries together. I know we aren’t in the height of berry season anymore, so instead, I used frozen berries. Since this berry crumble goes in the oven, the frozen berries were perfectly warmed throughout, so nothing to worry about!

For those of you that want to enjoy your desserts without very much effect to your waistline, you’ll be happy to know the Points Plus values did not change with the alterations I made. Sweet deal (literally!) 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups (total) of berries of your choice (blueberries, raspberries, cherries, strawberries, blackberries, etc)
  • 3/4 all-purpose or gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar, unpacked
  • 6 TB Earth Balance butter, melted

Baking Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. Place berries in a medium bowl.
  3. In another medium bowl, combine flour and sugar.
  4. Remove 3 tablespoons of flour mixture and gently toss with berries. Place berries in an 8-inch square pan.
  5. To make topping, add melted Earth Balance butter to remaining flour mixture; combine well.
  6. Crumble little bits of topping all over top of berries. Bake until berries just start to bubble, about 35 to 40 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces; serve warm or at room temperature. Yields 1 piece per serving.

*Note: Because I used gluten free flour, about mid-way through baking, I used a fork to sort of break up my flour chunks a little better. If you are using regular all-purpose flour, this may not be an issue for you, but it can’t hurt to double-check.

crumble-1 crumble-2 crumble-3 crumble-4 crumble-5 crumble-6 crumble-7 crumble-8 crumble-9 crumble-10 crumble-11

This dessert hits the spot perfectly well on it’s own, but if you really want to indulge, I suggest adding a cool scoop of vegan ice cream atop your warm, gooey crumble. Ah, bellissima! Thanks for stopping by for today’s Vegan Month of Food 2014 entry, and I hope you’ll let me know what you think of this recipe!

