Tags

, , , , , , ,

vegan mofo 2014 pancakes recipe

I’m back for another week of Vegan Month of Food 2014. I have all my recipes for this week planned, cooked, tasted, and photographed. As a little teaser, I’ll simply tell you in addition to today’s breakfast recipe, I’ve got a great mac-n-cheese casserole and a perfect-for-cool-fall-weather muffin recipe coming your way, so I hope you’ll stay tuned for this next week of VeganMoFo recipes.

Today’s veganized Weight Watchers recipe makes multiple servings of pancakes, so you can refrigerate the leftovers and have breakfast prepped for the next few days, or you can lovingly share them with other friends and family. Not only did I veganize the recipe, but I used gluten free oats, Trader Joe’s gluten free all-purpose flour, and buckwheat flour to make it a little more allergy-friendly.

The recipe calls for two eggs. I once read that if a recipe calls for only one egg, you can usually omit it. So…I omitted one egg and made one “egg” using one tablespoon of my Navitas Naturals Omega Blend mixed with three tablespoons of warm water. I have no idea if that’s “sound science”, but hey, it worked for me 😉 Also, the recipe calls for low-fat buttermilk. To compensate, I mixed a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar with plain, unsweetened, fat-free Westsoy Soymilk and gave that a good stir. After letting it rest about ten minutes, you have vegan buttermilk. Voila! Finally, I swapped animal-based butter for good ol’ Earth Balance. Aside from the substitutions I made, I followed the recipe accordingly. And guess what? The Points Plus values remained the same! Bam.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup(s) uncooked old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup buckwheat flour (or use whole wheat if not making gluten free)
  • 1 cup gluten free AP flour (or use regular AP flour if not making gluten free)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 2 cups vegan buttermilk (use instruction above)
  • 1 vegan egg substitute
  • 2 TB packed brown sugar, dark variety
  • 1 TB vegan butter, melted (I used Earth Balance)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • cooking spray for pancake pan

Cooking Instructions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together oats, both flours, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together vegan buttermilk, egg substitute, sugar, melted vegan butter and vanilla extract.
  3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients; fold to just combine.
  4. Coat a large nonstick griddle or pan with cooking spray; heat over medium to medium-high heat.
  5. Spoon batter into pan using 1/3-cup batter for each pancake; cook until lightly browned, about 3 to 4 minutes per side. Place pancakes on a baking tray in a warm oven (to keep hot); repeat with remaining ingredients.

Yields 2 pancakes per serving.

The original recipe has an additional note: “These pancakes are dense. Thin the batter out with a little water, if desired. Make these mini pancakes by using 2 tablespoons of batter at a time (will change portion size andPointsPlus value).”

I personally liked the pancakes without thinning them out, but to each his/her own 🙂

I finished off my pancakes with a little drizzle of organic maple syrup (which is not counted as part of the PPVs in the recipe). I made just enough pancakes for myself and the hubby and kept the leftover batter in my fridge. I pulled it out the next morning and again, just made enough pancakes for the two of us. The batter held up really well; maybe it thickened just a tad, but it made no difference in terms of taste or texture.

I hope you’ll enjoy this recipe and thanks so much for stopping by the blog and supporting Vegan Month of Food 2014! vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-1 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-2 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-3 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-4 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-5 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-6 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-7 vegan-mofo-2014-pancakes-8

