Tags

, , , ,

vegan-mofo-2014-entry-3-blog-header

Today is Day 3 of Vegan Month of Food 2014, and my third post for this celebration of all things vegan. Today’s veganized Weight Watchers recipe is a nice little breakfast “cookie” that starts your day the healthy way. It pairs well with your morning cup o’ joe (or tea) and it also scrumptious when topped with a tablespoon of your favorite nut butter smeared on top. With its blend of “fall” spices–cinnamon and nutmeg–I think it’s a perfect recipe to put on your “to do” baking list for when the cooler weather arrives.

The original recipe is 5 Points Plus values, but by making my own vegan substitutions with Earth Balance butter, Navitas Naturals Omega Blend (for the egg), and Westsoy nonfat plain soymilk, my version is actually only 4 PPVs. If needed, I think the recipe could be changed to accomodate allergies: make gluten free by using certified gluten free oats, gluten free all-purpose flour, and buckwheat flour, omit the walnuts for a nut-free version, and use an alternate plant milk and non-soy Earth Balance if you are allergic to soy products. I did not test this or determine the PPVs, so I can’t make any promises 😉

Before I get into the ingredients and cooking instructions in detail, I’ll make one (humorous) disclaimer. I did not have white cornmeal on hand; I had blue. So…rather than make a trip to the grocery store, I simply did what most home cooks do: I used what ingredients I have on hand. After all, I’m not a perfect cook and there’s no need to be. The point of all this is to promote veganism and share some healthy eats. So please excuse my blue-ish breakfast tops. Either way, they were tasty 😉

Ingredients:

  •  cooking spray
  • 2/3 cup(s) uncooked old fashioned oats, do not use instant
  • 2/3 cup(s) uncooked unenriched white cornmeal
  • 2/3 cup(s) whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp table salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup(s) packed brown sugar, dark-variety
  • 1 vegan egg substitute (I blended 1 tablespoon of Navitas Naturals Omega Blend with 3 tablespoons of warm water.)
  • 4 tablespoons Earth Balance butter, melted
  • 1 cup Westsoy nonfat plain soymilk (You may use any plant milk if you’re not concerned about PPVs)
  • 7 Tbsp chopped walnuts

Baking Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat 2 large cookie sheets with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine oats, cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg; set aside.
  3. In another bowl, beat sugar with egg substitute until well-combined. Add melted vegan butter and beat again.
  4. Alternating in batches, add egg substitute mixture and soy milk to dry ingredients, beating after each addition; fold in nuts.
  5. Drop six mounds of batter (about 1/4 cup each) onto each prepared cookie sheet, about 3-inches apart; bake until top turns golden and a tester inserted in center of a breakfast top comes out clean, about 12 to 15 minutes. Cool on cookie sheets for about 5 to 10 minutes; remove to a wire rack and cool completely. Yields 1 breakfast top per serving.

Here’s a note from the original recipe: “For a nice presentation, leave 1 tablespoon of oats out of the batter and sprinkle on top of the cookies before you bake them.”

vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-egg-substitute

My egg substitute

vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-flour vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-batter vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-3 vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-4 vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-1 vegan-mofo-2014-breakfast-tops-2

I went ahead and added some cashew butter and a sprinkling of more oats on top of the one I ate just for a little extra flair 😉

This is a super simple recipe and perfect for the most novice of cooks. Plus, it’s a great on-the-go breakfast option paired with a piece of fruit like a banana. I placed my leftovers in a freezer-sized ziplock bag and kept them in the refrigerator for a few days. Alternatively, you can freeze them for later. Feel free to customize with mix-ins like raisins or chocolate chips (which, if you care, will change the nutritional information).  Have fun with it and if you try any swaps, be sure to let me know. Thanks for reading!

 

