vegan-month-of-food-2014-vegan-couscous-vegetable-timbales

It’s Day 2 of Vegan Month of Food. If you missed my first entry which explains my theme for VeganMoFo 2014, and a yummy take on pizza, you can catch it here.

Today’s recipe is simple to make, takes a somewhat steady hand to assemble and serve (but if can do it, you definitely can!), and plates just beautifully!

Before cooking this recipe, I wondered “what is a timbale?” Here’s what a quick Google search yielded:what are timbales   Google Search

Well, I’m certainly not going to teach you to play cylindrical drums, but I am going to share how to make little cylindrical stacks of couscous and veggies! And by the way, if you’ve never cooked couscous before, it’s an incredibly fast-cooking grain; a great option for weekday nights when you need to put something on the dinner table pronto.

My recipe is based off of this Weight Watchers recipe. To veganize it, I swapped the light butter for Earth Balance, and I swapped the egg for my personal favorite egg replacer, Navitas Naturals Omega Blend. (I use 1 tablespoon of the omega blend whipped/beaten with 3 tablespoons of warm water.)navitas-naturals-omega-blend

The Points Plus values remained the same in my veganized version: 5PP per serving (a serving is 2 timbales). Below are the ingredients and cooking directions, as well as the photos I snapped along the way. Well, except for the couscous; I forgot that one! Feel free to swap out another grain, such as quinoa, if you want to try and make this recipe gluten free. Originally, this recipe called for scallion and I didn’t have any, so I just used white onion. Similarly, you can swap out the “intended veggies” for your own vegetables preferences. (Any changes you make in the recipe could change the PPVs.)

This is a relatively light dish, so I think pairing it with a lovely salad or some other filling vegetable would be best. I added steamed green beans, myself. Again, feel free to play and have fun just like I did. I’m not a trained cook, so there’s no pressure; this is about having fun and trying new things!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat couscous
  • 1 tablespoon Earth Balance buttery spread
  • 2 medium uncooked scallions
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers (packed in water)
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 “omega blend” egg
  • 1 tsp capers, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons low-fat vinaigrette dressing

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Bring water to a boil. Stir in couscous; cover and remove from heat. Let stand 5 minutes.
  2. Melt Earth Balance butter in large skillet. Add scallions and garlic, cook 1 minute.
  3. Add zucchini, peppers, capers, oregano and salt. Cook 5 minutes. Remove from heat.
  4. Add cooked couscous to vegetable mixture. Cool slightly. Add “omega blend” egg; mix well.
  5. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray. Fill 1/4 cup measuring cup with couscous mixture; invert onto prepared sheet. (Tip: Firmly pack your 1/4 cup measurer just enough to get the couscous grains and veggies to stick to eachother. Shake slightly to get it to tip out onto the baking pan.) Repeat steps until all couscous mixture is used up. Brush the vinaigrette (gently) over top of each.
  6. Bake at 350°F for 15 minutes. Serve immediately. Yields 4 servings, 2 timbales per serving.

vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-1 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-4 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-3 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-5 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-8 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-9 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-10 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-11 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-12 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-13 vegan-mofo-2014-timbales-14

Once the timbales are cooked, they will be just a touch golden. However, when you go to eat them, they will naturally fall apart, so don’t be disheartened. The best part of the timbale is the initial shape. As you can see, I spiralized some carrot and added it, very gingerly, on top of my timbales just for a little added flair.

I hope you try this recipe. It was definitely a “fancier” one for me personally, but it’s surprisingly easy to do. Let me know what you think and thanks for checking out my blog. I hope you’ll look at some of my other posts and continue to check back for this September’s VeganMoFo posts 🙂

vegan-mofo-2014-Melissa-cooks-timbales

 

