Tags

, , , , , , , ,

vegan month of food 2014

Happy Labor Day, happy September 1, and most exciting, Happy Vegan Month of Food 2014! This is my first time participating, and I am both looking forward to the prospect of blogging about vegan food, but also nervous about rising to the challenge. As I understand it, the goal is to blog at least every week day during the month of September. Usually I blog once, maybe twice a month! But, I’m always talking about blogging more, so hopefully, participating in VeganMoFo will be the push I need to make blogging a habit.

If this is your first time visiting my blog, thank you and welcome! You can read a little blurb about me or feel free to poke around my blog to get a sense of who I am. For those of you that regularly check out my blog, thank you for your support and please be my cheerleaders as I undertake this endeavor!

Something people may not know about me is that I used to be close to an unhealthy weight. So, I joined Weight Watchers to drop some of those excess pounds. Without going into a long, drawn-out story, the point is that I would never have found veganism if it weren’t for Weight Watchers (WW). The program set me on a path of new-found healthy habits that sparked an interest in health and nutritious eating. Down the road I decided to go vegetarian, and after eight months, I gave the vegan thing a try. It turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made. I just celebrated my three-year “veganversary” this past weekend, in fact! So…I decided for my contribution of VeganMoFo 2014 to veganize some WW recipes to show others who might want to enjoy healthy, vegan eats what that looks like. I’ll be sharing a variety of meals: breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner, and dessert options. So please stay tuned during the month of September!

A little side note: for anyone that might be familiar with Weight Watchers, and who might use these recipes as a way to try eating more vegan options while following the program, I’ve even taken the time to plug in my ingredient swaps to determine the Points Plus values. I’m trying to make my veganized version as close in PPVs as the original recipe.

Now that I’ve gotten that technical mumbo jumbo out of the way, it’s time to get some food in your belly! Today’s pizza recipe is great for lunch, or even dinner when paired with a generous helping of vegetables or salad. You could even serve the wedges as appetizers since this recipe makes several servings. Please enjoy and feel free to share any thoughts, questions, or comments you may at the end of this post.


Vegan BBQ Chicken Pizza Tortillas (based on this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray
  • 4 medium whole wheat tortillas (I used Engine 2 Diet brown rice tortillas)
  • 2 servings Beyond Meat Grilled Chicken Strips
  • 1/2 cup barbeque sauce (I used Annie’s Naturals Organic BBQ Sweet-n-Spicy Sauce)
  • 3 oz vegan cheese to substitute for Gouda cow’s cheese, shredded (The internet said to choose Monterey Jack or Havarti in place of Gouda. Daiya makes havarti slices but I was able to find Follow Your Heart Monterey Jack.)
  • 1/2 small red onion, cut into slivers or diced
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

Cooking Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Spray your baking sheets with cooking spray.
  3. Cube or rough-chop the Beyond Meat chicken strips.
  4. Pour the barbeque sauce in a bowl/container and then toss your chicken in the barbeque sauce to give it a nice full coating.
  5. Divide the barbeque chicken evenly among your tortillas.
  6. Sprinkle even amounts of vegan cheese over your tortillas, as well as the red onion.
  7. Place tortillas in the oven to cook about 7 minutes until the tortillas is lightly browned and the cheese has melted.
  8. When pizzas are finished cooking, top with cilantro. Cut each pizza into 4 wedges (if you like).

Serving size: one pizza tortilla/four wedges per person

Original PPV: 7     Veganized PPV: 8

vegan-mofo-2014-beyond-meat-chicken-strips vegan-mofo-2014-engine-2-diet-tortillas vegan-mofo-2014-pizza vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-1 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-2 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-3 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-4 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-5 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-6

I also made a version of this with Daiya cheddar cheese shreds. I think both versions were yummy, but my hubby preferred the Monterey Jack. Feel free to play with your toppings (keeping in mind any additions could affect PPVs).

vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-7 vegan-mofo-2014-pizza-8

Please know I am not trying to “sell” anyone on WW. I simply want people to have access to delicious, nutritious, vegan recipes, and I’m so grateful for the opportunity to share these recipes with you during VeganMoFo. Thanks for reading, and I hope you’ll check back for another recipe 🙂

