Tags

, , ,

Oh She Glows cookbook review

Hi, everyone!

I’ve been a lazy blogger; I haven’t blogged in a while. The posts I look forward to writing the most usually involve vegan chocolate, but since it’s Lent, I’ve been trying very hard to refrain from indulging in chocolate and other vices in general (wine and pretty much any baked good/cookie treats). I’ve slipped a few times, mostly to try things here and there that were items I wouldn’t normally have access to, but I’m really doing my best. In absence of chocolate, I’m trying to cook lovely, healthy, and fresh plant-based meals with the occasional few pieces of dried fruit to curb my sweet tooth.

It helped that in order to do this, Angela Liddon from the highly successful vegan food blog “Oh She Glows” released her first cookbook in March. It’s a beautiful book, a real triumph for her breakout cookbook. Angela is an accomplished photographer, so of course the pictures of her creations are so lovely. But even if she weren’t a talented photographer, her recipes are so delicious and use such easy ingredients that vegan foodies would be drawn to her recipes even without professional quality photos to lure them in.

I’m by no means a cook. I do enjoy cooking more and more as I get older, but it’s still a challenge for me and I don’t have a natural flair for the culinary arts, to say the least. However, Angela sources such accessible ingredients for her vegan recipes and rarely relies on plant-based meats such as tofu or tempeh or seitan. In fact, many, many of her recipes are nut free, soy free, and gluten free which is particularly appealing to anyone dealing with food allergies.

Her cookbook is laid out by courses – breakfast, smoothies, appetizers, entrees, salads, soups, desserts, staples, etc. The first few pages talk about staples for her vegan pantry and give easy explanations about slightly less common ingredients such as raw buckwheat groats, coconut sugar, and herbamare, to name a few.

I think this cookbook is particularly great for those people transitioning to a vegan diet due to the use of such easy ingredients that wouldn’t overwhelm anyone new to the world of vegan recipes. Check out how Angela made the transition herself in her own words from her cookbook:

My transition to a vegan diet was made up of small and incremental changes; I didn’t throw everything out of my fridge one day or declare war on animal products and processed foods with the snap of a finger. It was a gradual process, and because of this it has been a long-lasting and sustainable lifestyle change…As I started to eat fewer animal products and more plants, I felt – and looked – like a new person.

The recipes I chose to make were:

  • Effortless Vegan Overnight Oats
  • Maple-Cinnamon Apple & Pear Baked Oatmeal (would have been a great breakfast or dessert)
  • Raw Buckwheat Breakfast Porridge
  • Gym Rat Smoothie
  • Classic Hummus
  • Sweet Potato & Black Bean Enchiladas with Avocado-Cilantro Cream Sauce
  • Enlightened Miso Power Bowl
  • Protein Power Goddess Bowl
  • Pan-seared Garlic Tofu
  • Marinated Balsamic, Maple & Garlic Tempeh
  • Easy Almond Pulp Granola

The other nice thing about many of these recipes is the multiple servings they make. I’m only a family of myself, my hubby, and my cat. Nonetheless, with our busy life, having leftovers that get us through another day easy breezy is a huge plus. I honestly can say I enjoyed every single recipe, but the enchiladas in particular were amazing! If you’re looking for a crowd pleaser, whether vegan or omnivorous, this is a recipe to use. Check out my photos below from my Oh She Glows cookbook adventures and be sure to check out Angela’s blog over at Oh She Glows. For recipes from the Oh She Glows Cookbook, check out the reviews and recipes from other bloggers around the web here. Be sure to scroll down to the virtual blog tour section 😉

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

