Tags

, , ,

Vegan Podcast list

I love listening to podcasts! I listen to them when I’m washing dishes, when I’m running, cooking, driving; I try and squeeze them in whenever I can. I listen to a variety of podcasts – health-focused, social media-focused (for my day job), and of course, my favorite, vegan podcasts! I find these podcasts have become a invaluable resource for learning, improving my knowledge base on vegan issues, and making me feel more connected to the vegan community. (My hubby and I are the only vegans in the family.)

I decided to do a Google search on what vegan podcasts exist just for the heck of it. It’s not like I have all the time in the world to listen to all of them, but I thought it was important that I at least know what’s out there.

If you’re new to veganism, or even if you’re a seasoned vegan who wants to expand your podcast-dabbling, a great resource for finding vegan podcasts is The Vegan Feed. There’s a whole page that lists vegan podcasts, which you can find here. I have to say, I was floored and thrilled to see how many podcasts are out there! Of course, my personal favorites were listed there:

  • Our Hen House
  • Vegetarian Food For Thought
  • Main Street Vegan
  • Red Radio

Our Hen House is my favorite podcast to listen to for animal rights news and I love the interviews Jasmin Singer and Mariann Sullivan have with the many people near and far advocating for the vegan and animal rights movements. They also have some great contributors that will join them on the air with reviews of documentaries, books, food products, and personal care items.

My favorite podcast for general “how to” vegan information is Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s Vegetarian Food For Thought podcast. Not only is Colleen a hugely successful cookbook author, but she’s a highly intelligent and passionate speaker on living a full, joyful, and compassionate vegan life. When I first went vegan, her podcasts were the resource I leaned on to help me find my path, understand food substitutions, navigate tricky situations like “Where do you get your protein?” questions, how to survive the Thanksgiving holiday as a vegan, and so much more. If there is one podcast you only have time for, it should be this one.

I hesitate to say the list of podcasts on The Vegan Feed links to every vegan podcast that exists. For example, I sometimes tune in for Laura Theodore’s Jazzy Vegetarian podcast and Caryn Hartglass’ It’s All About Food program, and I didn’t see those two shows on the list. Certainly, anyone could also scroll through iTunes as well, but that can be a bit overwhelming, especially for those who are new to veganism or are searching for a vegan podcast for the first time. I say start with the options on The Vegan Feed page and send some link love to their website as opposed to iTunes 😉 and then go from there. Definitely check out Our Hen House and Vegetarian Food For Thought, as I mentioned. I really think you’ll love them both.

What about you guys? If you listen to podcasts, which are your favorites? Do you know of one that isn’t listed on The Vegan Feed’s page that you think others should know about? Let me know in the comments area below; I always enjoy a good podcast and of course, want to support our cause as always!

