Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So, so sorry for this delayed post! But I just couldn’t fall behind any longer. My New Year’s resolution was to blog regularly and I’ve already missed some dates! Oy! I know it seems like it’s too late to share my Valentine’s Day menu, but I had such wonderful, yummy eats that I simply had to share with you! Besides, my hubby and I didn’t get a chance to celebrate on the actual day of Valentine’s Day because our weekdays are so busy. Instead, we put it off until the following Saturday and made a whole day of it by cooking together and enjoying lovely meals and eachother’s company.

Firstly, I’ve noticed lately that when I eat pasta, my tummy’s a little upset with me. I don’t know if it’s the acid from the pasta sauce that I’m sensitive to lately, or maybe I’ve been ignoring my body trying to tell me something. At any rate, I’ve cut out gluten for a little while to test out how I feel. I highly recommend Manifest Vegan as a great source for vegan, gluten free recipes (as well as lovely food photography). I’ll keep you posted on that. In the mean time, allow me to share with you the recipes that have been delicious, vegan, gluten free, and must-makes in your kitchen!

While I’ve already blogged on my easy, go-to pancake recipe, it’s not gluten free. So…I checked out another PCRM pancake recipe that IS vegan and gluten free. It was pretty good. The cornmeal took some getting used to, but like most things, once topped with peanut butter and maple syrup, it was yummy. So this was breakfast:

For lunch, I already had cooked some red lentils from the day before and we had a butternut squash on hand. We decided to bake the squash, toss it and the lentils in some fire-stoking (wink, wink) spices such as curry powder, salt, pepper, and lay them amongst a bed of cool, fresh veggies.

butternut squash and red lentil salad

For dinner we prepared a 3-course meal: an appetizer, a main course, and a dessert. And of course, we made sure we had some of my favorite wine on hand!

vegan wine

For the appetizer we made the Lettuce Wraps with Hoison-Mustard Tofu from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Appetite for Reduction cookbook. Unfortunately, our local health foods store didn’t have iceberg lettuce, so instead of cups, our appetizers were more like “boats” in romaine lettuce. 🙂

Our main course was from The Happy Herbivore cookbook. We decided to make the Cheater Pad Thai with extra veggies!

Finally, for my dessert, I went to one of my favorite chocolate food blogs: Chocolate Covered Katie. Katie makes an awesome Deep Dish Cookie Pie that has been a favorite of mine for a while. I’ve even made this dish for family and they’ve loved it. Needless to say, my hubby and I didn’t mind having it again for Valentine’s Day dessert!

While I am no food photographer, I hope the recipes here entice you and you give them a try. I promise you won’t be disappointed! And for you gluten free folks, I made sure I used gluten free soy sauce, gluten free noodles, gluten free oats, etc. Wherever a wheat product may have been called for, I just swapped it out.

What about you? Have you tried any new recipes lately? Let me know; I’d love to try them! And be sure to let me know if you make any of these recipes! Catchya later!

