Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you’re a vegan cookbook addict like I am, you’re well aware in the world of vegan cookbook news that Annie and Dan Shannon of Meet the Shannons recently released their food-blog-turned-cookbook cookbook “Betty Goes Vegan.” As soon as this book came out, I high-tailed it down to my local bookstore to check it out. I have to say, this cookbook is thorough! There’s everything from sauces and appetizers, to main meals, to desserts as well as a variety of ethnic dishes. This cookbook is a great addition to your vegan cookbook library and a stellar choice for people who want to transition to a vegan diet. So many of the recipes are classic comfort foods that die-hard omnivores will appreciate. What makes this cookbook even more exciting is that most of the ingredients in the recipes are accessible at many chain grocery store and the recipes, despite the fact that this cookbook is the veganized version of the classic Betty Crocker Cookbook, aren’t difficult to cook at all! This truly is a cookbook for one and all and a must-add to your cookbook collection. In fact, I knew that it would be so greatly embraced by omnivores that I decided right away to cook one of the recipes at a family gathering this past weekend. My meat-eating family loved it! I doubled the recipe to ensure there was plenty of yummy vegan food to satiate their appetites. Maybe I overdid it because we did have leftovers. But I have to say, everyone was pretty willing to take some of the leftovers home. Plant-pushing success!

The Vegan Meat Lover’s Pizza Casserole from Betty Goes Vegan

Now for the sad news. Being the crazy chocolate-lover that I am, I had to make the Brownie Bites that are also in the cookbook. They tasted great, except that I did overfill the cupcake tins (against the author’s warning) and I guess I didn’t use enough spray oil in the cupcake pan because I couldn’t get the brownies out after they cooled. I tried to delicately pry them out, but they just tore in half. But that didn’t stop all of us from eating them right out of the pan or rolling what we could dig out of the pan into little brownie balls and popping in our mouths. I was pretty distressed at first. So much so that I didn’t bother to take pictures of the baked brownies. However, now I am kicking myself for not taking pictures of the whole fam enjoying the brownies and brownie balls nonetheless. In end, taste still triumphed over tragedy.

Needless to say, these recipes are just the start of cooking from “Betty Goes Vegan.” I encourage you, please, please buy this cookbook. Support the Shannons, support vegan cooking, and support your appetite!

Finally, and actually more exciting than vegan food, a late birthday present was awaiting me when I arrived home after the family get together. My husband gifted me with the sponsoring of a rescued goat named Rocky! My monthly donation will go towards giving him a happy, long life and one of the perks is that I can visit him at the Poplar Springs Animal Sanctuary as often as I’d like! How awesome is that?!

Here’s the letter that was enclosed in the package:

sponsor letter

And here is Rocky:

Rocky 1 Rocky 2

I’ve never sponsored an animal before, but I am so thrilled to be doing so. Thanks to my hubby, I will have a new reason to visit the animal sanctuary (again) and I promise to keep you updated on this little goat’s life. But first you have to make me a promise: go buy the “Betty Goes Vegan” cookbook and start introducing your friends and family to yummy vegan food. Animals (like Rocky) will thank you!

